The Alumni of Alpha Phi Alpha Xi Gamma Chapter Endowed Scholarship

67% Funded
  • $6,665.00 Donated
  • $10,000.00 Goal
  • 34 Impact Donors

About the Campaign

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc. was established as the first black Greek letter fraternity in 1906.  The Xi Gamma chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha continued that trend and was the first black Greek letter fraternity established at Southeast Missouri State University in 1979.  During a time when legal segregation was no longer officially sanctioned by the government, it was still quite prevalent.  As a result, Brother Randy C. Allen, a member of the Beta Eta Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha (SIU-Carbondale), was instructed to guide the initiation of eight young men interested in carrying on the traditions of the fraternity at Southeast Missouri State University.  Brother Allen, now Dr. Jamal R. A. Rasheed, became known as the Chapter Precursor for his guidance in establishing the SEMO chapter.  The aforementioned eight young men became the founding members of the Xi Gamma Chapter at SEMO and are now and forever referred to as the Chapter Pharaohs, Brothers James Brightman, Bruce Bryant, Alex Clinton, Steven Edwards, Oliver Gills, Emerson Jones, Willie Taylor and Joseph Williams.  More than 150 brothers have followed the footsteps of the Pharaohs.  Alpha Phi Alpha continues to push toward equity and inclusion and strives for excellence.  We hope that our traditions and perspectives will become a part of the legacy that this endowed scholarship intends to shape.